What is the falling action of scarlet letter?


What is the falling action of scarlet letter?

Falling Action Chillingworth dies within a year of Dimmesdale and leaves his entire inheritance to Pearl, making her very rich. Pearl and Hester leave New England for Europe soon after.

What is the rising action of The Scarlet Letter?

The rising action is when Hester Prynne is given her punishment for the crime of adultery. Her punishment is to wear the scarlet “A” on her bosom for the rest of her life, the scarlet letter is not only a punishment but a symbol throughout the book. Of sin, and of a reminder to Hester on her crime.

What is the climax of scarlet letter?

The climax of Nathaniel Hawthorne’s The Scarlet Letter ties together the stories of Roger Chillingworth and his revenge, Hester Prynne and her lover, and of Arthur Dimmesdale and his guilt. As he climbs upon the scaffold and publicly admits his guilt, Arthur Dimmesdale robs Roger Chillingworth of his revenge.

What is the structure of The Scarlet Letter?

Narrative Structure The Scarlet Letter is a frame narrative, in which the novel’s beginning and ending occur in roughly the same period of time, while the middle–and the main plot–occurs in the past.

What is the plot of scarlet letter?

Set in the Puritan Massachusetts Bay Colony during the years 1642 to 1649, the novel tells the story of Hester Prynne, who conceives a daughter with a man to whom she is not married and then struggles to create a new life of repentance and dignity.

What is the conclusion of The Scarlet Letter?

After Dimmesdale passes away life goes on. Roger Chillingworth dies when Dimmesdale dies, his purpose in life was to get revenge and Dimmesdale admitted his guilt without any blackmail and he died and escaped the pain. When Dimmesdale passes away Hester moves away with Pearl.

What is the setting of The Scarlet Letter Chapter 1?

In this first chapter, Hawthorne sets the scene of the novel — Boston of the seventeenth century. It is June, and a throng of drably dressed Puritans stands before a weather-beaten wooden prison.

Who dies in scarlet letter?

At the end of the novel, Dimmesdale makes a speech and exposes his chest to the community gathered around the scaffold, then dies.

What is the plot of The Scarlet Letter?

What are the settings in The Scarlet Letter?

The Scarlet Letter is set in Boston in the 1600s, prior to American Independence. At the time, Boston was part of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, which had been established after the first group of English settlers arrived in Plymouth in 1620.

What is the setting of chapter 2 in The Scarlet Letter?

Summary: Chapter 2: The Market-Place As the crowd watches, Hester Prynne, a young woman holding an infant, emerges from the prison door and makes her way to a scaffold (a raised platform), where she is to be publicly condemned.

Is the scarlet letter A true story?

The Scarlet Letter is also a historical novel, in that it was written in 1850 but set in the 1640s and contains real-life settings, characters, and actual historical events.

Where does the main action of The Scarlet Letter take place?

The main action of The Scarlet Letter takes place in Boston. The Puritans allowed citizens to worship as they please.

What happened in chapter 3 of The Scarlet Letter?

Inquiring, the man learns of Hester’s history, her crime (adultery), and her sentence: to stand on the scaffold for three hours and to wear the symbolic letter A for the rest of her life. The stranger also learns that Hester refuses to name the man with whom she had the sexual affair.

Who dies in Scarlet Letter?

What is the falling action and resolution of the Scarlet Letter?

The falling action is Chillingworth’s death; Pearl’s inheritance (a touch of Chillingworth’s own reparation); followed by Hester’s and Pearl’s trip to Europe. The resolution, a strange one, is Hester’s return to Boston and her resumption of wearing the letter “A” while she also resumes her good works.

What is the climax of the Scarlet Letter?

In Nathaniel Hawthorne’s ”The Scarlet Letter,” three different plot threads are woven throughout the story. The point at which these three things converge and crescendo is called the climax. Let’s take a closer look! You know that point in a book where you just can’t put it down, even though it’s late and you should really go to bed?

What is the plot structure of the Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne?

What is the plot structure of The Scarlet Letter by Nathaniel Hawthorne? The plot structure includes the exposition, rising action, climax, denouement/falling action and resolution. Hover for more information. Who are the experts?

What happens before and after the climax of a story?

That’s called the climax. Before the climax, events in the story build in what is called rising action. After the climax, things tend to settle down in what is called falling action.