What does ajiva mean in Jainism?


What does ajiva mean in Jainism?

ajiva, Sanskrit Ajīva, in the Jainist philosophy of India, “nonliving substance,” as opposed to jiva, “soul” or “living matter.” Ajiva is divided into: (1) ākāśa, “space,” (2) dharma, “that which makes motion possible,” (3) adharma, “that which makes rest possible,” and (4) pudgala, “matter.” Pudgala consists of atoms; …

What is the meaning of ajiva?

anything that has no soul or life
Ajiva (Sanskrit) is anything that has no soul or life, the polar opposite of “jīva” (soul). Because ajiva has no life, it does not accumulate karma and cannot die. Examples of ajiva include chairs, computers, paper, plastic, etc.

Which word has been used by Jain for soul?

The Jain word that comes closest to soul is jiva, which means a conscious, living being. For Jains body and soul are different things: the body is just an inanimate container – the conscious being is the jiva.

What is Dharmastikaya?

Dharmastikay denotes the medium of motion for things in the universe. In the absence of this medium, Jivas and other things would be unable to move. This medium prevails in lok, but is absent in alok. (2) ADHARMASTIKAY This term is also formed of two terms: Adharma + Astikay.

What is Ajiva and jiva?

In the Jain tradition, jivas are opposed to ajivas, or “nonliving substances.” Jivas are understood as being eternal and infinite in number and are not the same as the bodies that they inhabit.

What is difference between jiva and Ajiva?

Jiva is feeling and consciousness; it encompasses soul and the spirit. Ajiva is everything else in the universe, it doesn’t have feeling or consciousness.

What are the 5 vows of Jainism?

Emerging from these three jewels and relating to right conduct are the five abstinences, which are the vows of:

  • Ahimsa (non-violence)
  • Satya (truthfulness)
  • Asteya (not stealing)
  • Aparigraha (non-acquisition)
  • Brahmacarya (chaste living)

What is Ajiva and Jiva?

What is the meaning of Pudgala in Jainism?

In Jainism: Jiva and ajiva. Matter (pudgala) has the characteristics of touch, taste, smell, and colour; however, its essential characteristic is lack of consciousness. The smallest unit of matter is the atom (paramanu). Heat, light, and shade are all forms of fine matter.

What is Atma in Jainism?

Jīva (Sanskrit: जीव) or Atman (/ˈɑːtmən/; Sanskrit: आत्मन्) is a philosophical term used within Jainism to identify the soul. As per Jain cosmology, jīva or soul is the principle of sentience and is one of the tattvas or one of the fundamental substances forming part of the universe.

What is ajiva and jiva?

How many Agams are there in Jainism?

Classification of Ang-bahya-agams: There are 12 Upang-agams accepted by all Swetamber sects. Chhed-sutras: The subject matter described in Chhed-sutras is only for monks and nuns and not for lay people. It relates to the conduct and behavior of monks and nuns.

What is Jiva and Ajiva?

What are the 12 angas?

12 Angas: The 12 Angas are as follows:

  • Ācāranga sūtra.
  • Sūtrakrtanga.
  • Sthānānga.
  • Samavāyānga.
  • Vyākhyāprajñapti or Bhagavati sūtra.
  • Jnātrdhārmakathāh.
  • Upāsakadaśāh.
  • Antakrddaaśāh.

Is honey allowed in Jainism?

Honey is forbidden, as its collection would amount to violence against the bees. Jain texts declare that a śrāvaka (householder) should not cook or eat at night.