How many states are in north Sudan?


How many states are in north Sudan?

States of Sudan

Sudanese States الولايات السودانية (Arabic)
Number 18 States (4 Province)
Populations 832,112 (Blue Nile) – 5,274,371 (Khartoum)
Areas 22,140 km2 (8,549 sq mi) (Khartoum) – 348,770 km2 (134,659 sq mi) (Northern)
Government State government

Does Sudan have states?

Sudan is divided into twenty-six states (wilayat, sing.: wilayah).

How many states are there in Darfur?

As an administrative region, Darfur is divided into five federal states: Central Darfur, East Darfur, North Darfur, South Darfur and West Darfur.

What divides North South Sudan?

Those of the southern “Land of the Blacks” are more akin to sub-Saharan Africa than to the Arab north. Splitting Sudan south to north as it flows toward Egypt is the Nile River. Northern Sudan has a border on the Red Sea.

How many tribes are in north Sudan?

There are many non-Arab ethnic groups in Sudan, the most well known being the Nubians, the Beja, the Fur, the Zaghawa and the Nuba. Within each ethnic group there are multiple tribes, amounting to over 500 sub-tribes in total.

Is Sudan North or East Africa?

The UN subregion of North Africa consists of 7 countries at the northernmost part of the continent — Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Sudan, Tunisia, Western Sahara.

Is Darfur in north or south Sudan?

Darfur is a part of the Republic of Sudan, not South Sudan, and so is not involved in South Sudan’s conflict. But the Darfur conflict that killed so many civilians in the mid-2000s, and which the United States labeled a genocide, is not totally separate from what’s happening in South Sudan.

Is Darfur still part of Sudan?

Subsequently, Darfur remained a province of the Anglo-Egyptian Sudan and the independent Republic of the Sudan. There are several different explanations for the origins of the present conflict.

Where is North Sudan?

Northern Sudan, lying between the Egyptian border and Khartoum, has two distinct parts, the desert and the Nile Valley. To the east of the Nile lies the Nubian Desert; to the west, the Libyan Desert. They are similar—stony, with sandy dunes drifting over the landscape.

Are North Sudanese Arabs?

The majority of the Sudanese population identify as Arabs in this way. However, most are ethnically mixed (often descending from both Arab and African tribes) and have Cushitic ancestry.

Why is Sudan divided into North and south?

Sudan, once the largest and one of the most geographically diverse states in Africa, split into two countries in July 2011 after the people of the south voted for independence.

Is Khartoum in South Sudan or north Sudan?

Khartoum is located in the middle of the populated areas in Sudan, at almost the northeast center of the country between 15 and 16 degrees latitude north, and between 31 and 32 degrees longitude east.

What religion is North Sudan?

Since South Sudan became independent in 2011, the official government estimate has shown North Sudan to be almost completely religiously homogeneous. The government believes that 97% of the population follow Islam, while only 3% are Christians or animists.

Where is North Sudan located?

AfricaSudan / Continent

Is Khartoum south or north Sudan?

Is Darfur in North or South Sudan?

What is the capital of north Sudan?

KhartoumSudan / Capital

What divides north South Sudan?